Cover Image for The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead
NOW A MAJOR TV SERIES BY BARRY JENKINS (COMING MAY 2021) WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE FOR FICTION 2017 WINNER OF THE ARTHUR C. CLARKE AWARD 2017 LONGLISTED FOR THE BOOKER PRIZE 2017 NATIONAL BOOK AWARD WINNER 2016 'Whitehead is on a roll: the reviews have been sublime' Guardian 'Luminous, furious, wildly inventive' Observer 'Hands down one of the best, if not the best, book I've read this year' Stylist 'Dazzling' New York Review of Books Praised by Barack Obama and an Oprah Book Club Pick, The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead won the National Book Award 2016 and the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction 2017. Cora is a slave on a cotton plantation in Georgia. All the slaves lead a hellish existence, but Cora has it worse than most; she is an outcast even among her fellow Africans and she is approaching womanhood, where it is clear even greater pain awaits. When Caesar, a slave recently arrived from Virginia, tells her about the Underground Railroad, they take the perilous decision to escape to the North. In Whitehead's razor-sharp imagining of the antebellum South, the Underground Railroad has assumed a physical form: a dilapidated box car pulled along subterranean tracks by a steam locomotive, picking up fugitives wherever it can. Cora and Caesar's first stop is South Carolina, in a city that initially seems like a haven. But its placid surface masks an infernal scheme designed for its unknowing black inhabitants. And even worse: Ridgeway, the relentless slave catcher sent to find Cora, is close on their heels. Forced to flee again, Cora embarks on a harrowing flight, state by state, seeking true freedom. At each stop on her journey, Cora encounters a different world. As Whitehead brilliantly recreates the unique terrors for black people in the pre-Civil War era, his narrative seamlessly weaves the saga of America, from the brutal importation of Africans to the unfulfilled promises of the present day. The Underground Railroad is at once the story of one woman's ferocious will to escape the horrors of bondage and a shatteringly powerful meditation on history.
£8.99 Add to basket
A Better Man
A Better Man
by Penny, Louise Fiction & related items Hardback
£19.99 Add to basket
A Legacy of Spies
A Legacy of Spies
by Le Carre, John Fiction & related items Paperback
£8.99 Add to basket
Cover Image for A Passage North
A Passage North
SHORTLISTED FOR THE BOOKER PRIZE 2021 A story of age and youth, loss and survival that builds into a magisterial reckoning with mortality, from the prize winning author of Story of a Brief Marriage 'Mesmerizing, political, intimate, unafraid – this is a superb novel, a novel that pays such close, intelligent attention to the world we all live in' Sunjeev Sahota, author of China Room and the Booker shortlisted The Year of the Runaways ‘A Passage North is a novel of consciousness alert to the turning of history […] I’ve rarely read something so exquisitely alive’ Naoise Dolan, author of Exciting Times It begins with a message: a telephone call informing Krishan that his grandmother's former care-giver, Rani, has died in unexpected circumstances, at the bottom of a well in her village in the north, her neck broken by the fall. The news arrives on the heels of an email from Anjum, an activist he fell in love with four years earlier while living in Delhi, bringing with it the stirring of distant memories and desires. As Krishan makes the long journey by train from Colombo into the war-torn Northern Province for the funeral, so begins a passage into the soul of an island devastated by violence. Written with precision and grace, A Passage North is a poignant memorial for the missing and the dead, and a luminous meditation on time, consciousness, and the lasting imprint of the connections we make with others.
£14.99 Add to basket
A Single Thread
A Single Thread
by Chevalier, Tracy Hampshire Paperback
£8.99 Add to basket
A Snapshot of Murder : The tenth Kate Shackleton Murder Mystery
A Snapshot of Murder : The tenth Kate Shackleton Murder Mystery
by Brody, Frances Fiction & related items Paperback
£8.99 Add to basket
Cover Image for A Suitable Boy by Vikram Seth
A Suitable Boy
THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER AND MODERN CLASSIC: NOW A MAJOR TV SERIES 'A phenomenon, a prodigy, a marvel' Evening Standard ONE OF THE BBC'S 100 NOVELS THAT SHAPED OUR WORLD A modern classic, this epic tale of families, romance and political intrigue, set in India, never loses its power to delight and enchant readers. At its core, A Suitable Boy is a love story: the tale of Lata - and her mother's - attempts to find her a suitable husband, through love or through exacting maternal appraisal. At the same time, it is the story of India, newly independent and struggling through a time of crisis as a sixth of the world's population faces its first great general election and the chance to map its own destiny. 'Seth is the best writer of his generation' The Times
£12.99 Add to basket
Agent Running in the Field
Agent Running in the Field
by Carre, John le England Hardback
£20.00 Add to basket
Alert
Alert
by Patterson, James Fiction & related items Paperback
£7.99 Add to basket
Cover Image for Phillipa Ashley An Endless Cornish Summer
An Endless Cornish Summer

Escape to the seaside with this gorgeous new series from the Sunday Times bestselling author – perfect for fans of Trisha Ashley and Heidi Swain.

Rose Vernon is headed to a quiet Cornish village – to find the man who saved her life.  For Rose, every day is a gift. She narrowly survived a life-threatening illness and owes everything to her anonymous donor. Determined to thank him, Rose follows a trail of clues that lead her to the little Cornish fishing village of Falford. But things become complicated when Rose is drawn into local life, becoming involved in the legendary Falford Regatta and meeting the handsome Morvah brothers – one of whom might just be the man she’s looking for. But which one? Can Rose find the answer she’s searching for, or will she lose her heart before the summer is over?
£7.99 Add to basket