Enjoy a nice warm drink, and an award
winning cake in friendly, comfy surroundings
Play
A huge selection of books to purchase
They make great gifts...
previous arrowprevious arrow
next arrownext arrow
Slider

Nestled on the high street of Kirkham is Book, Bean and Ice Cream, a thriving independent café and boutique book and gift shop.

A favourite with locals and visitors alike, the shop is the passion of proprietor Elaine Silverwood.

Why not take a look around our website and learn a little more about what’s on offer at Book, Bean and Ice Cream? We also have an online store that offers a range of signed books by some of the best loved and most familiar names writing today. We look forward to welcoming you and hope you will come to love our special shop and cafe as much as we do.

March's Featured Book

Becoming by Michelle Obama

ISBN: 978-0241334140
Author: Michelle Obama
Cover: Paperback
Pages: 400
Language: English

Now in paperback featuring a new introduction by Michelle Obama, a letter from the author to her younger self, and a book club guide with 20 discussion questions and a 5-question Q&A, the intimate, powerful, and inspiring memoir by the former First Lady of the United StatesIn her memoir, a work of deep reflection and mesmerizing storytelling, Michelle Obama invites readers into her world, chronicling the experiences that have shaped her — from her childhood on the South Side of Chicago to her years as an executive balancing the demands of motherhood and work, to her time spent at the world’s most famous address. With unerring honesty and lively wit, she describes her triumphs and her disappointments, both public and private, telling her full story as she has lived it — in her own words and on her own terms.

Warm, wise, and revelatory, Becoming is the deeply personal reckoning of a woman of soul and substance who has steadily defied expectations — and whose story inspires us to do the same.

Gift vouchers make a perfect present.

Our vouchers can be used to either make purchases from our great book selection, our Artisan Gifts or to enjoy a lovely coffee with a delicious cake. Valid for twelve months why not give the gift of choice?

£5, £10 and £20 Vouchers available.

Book shop - buy your book directly below

Cover image for Chocolate Mix, X-Ray Specs and Me
Chocolate Milk, X-Ray Specs and Me
A not to be missed, laugh out loud book for fans of Tom Gates and Diary of a Wimpy Kid. 10-year-old Freddy Spicer writes letters to his parents - who he believes are working at a Brussels-sprouts farm in Outer Castonga, with no internet or phone access. In fact, Freddy's parents are secret agents out of the country on a highly classified mission – but Freddy has NO IDEA! Throw in:
  • Grandad’s X-Ray specs;
  • A laser blaster that accidentally destroys the shed;
  • A strange new neighbour flirting with grandad; and
  • Suspicious goings-on at school . . .
£6.99 Add to basket
Cover image for Code Name Bananas by David Walliams
Code Name Bananas
Go back in time with No. 1 bestselling author David Walliams for a whizz-bang epic adventure of action, laughter and secret plots – and the extraordinary friendship between a little boy and a huge gorilla that just might save the day… 1940. Britain is at war with Nazi Germany. Eleven-year-old Eric spends his days at the place that makes him most happy: London Zoo. And there’s one animal in particular he loves: Gertrude the gorilla. With bombs falling all over London, Eric must rescue Gertrude. Together with his Uncle Sid, a keeper at the zoo, the three go on the run. But while hiding out at the seaside they uncover a top-secret Nazi plot…
£14.99 Add to basket
Cover image for Coming Home by Michael Morpurgo
Coming Home
A plucky little robin sets out on an epic journey. Through dark forests, driving rain, clapping thunder and flashing lightning. Across frozen wastes, huge mountains and stormy seas he flies. And all the while he's dreaming of home. Of her. But will he ever get there? Find out in this wonderfully lyrical Christmas story from the brilliant Michael Morpurgo, with stunning illustrations by Kerry Hyndman.
£6.99 Add to basket
Dark Tides
Dark Tides
ISBN: 978-1471172854 Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK Cover: Hardback Pages: 496 Language: English Category: Fiction     Number One bestselling author Philippa Gregory's new historical novel tracks the rise of the Tidelands family in London, Venice and New England.  Midsummer Eve 1670. Two unexpected visitors arrive at a shabby warehouse on the south side of the River Thames. The first is a wealthy man hoping to find the lover he deserted twenty-one years before. James Avery has everything to offer, including the favour of the newly restored King Charles II, and he believes that the warehouse's poor owner Alinor has the one thing his money cannot buy – his son and heir. The second visitor is a beautiful widow from Venice in deepest mourning. She claims Alinor as her mother-in-law and has come to tell Alinor that her son Rob has drowned in the dark tides of the Venice lagoon. Alinor writes to her brother Ned, newly arrived in faraway New England and trying to make a life between the worlds of the English newcomers and the American Indians as they move toward inevitable war. Alinor tells him that she knows – without doubt – that her son is alive and the widow is an imposter. Set in the poverty and glamour of Restoration London, in the golden streets of Venice, and on the tensely contested frontier of early America, this is a novel of greed and desire: for love, for wealth, for a child, and for home. ‘A gripping read spanning London, Venice and New England, all beautifully observed by Gregory’ Woman & Home Praise for Tidelands, the first in the Fairmile series: ‘A gripping and intelligent portrait of a woman fighting to survive in a hostile world’ The Times ‘The first in a planned series . . . The author crafts her material with effortless ease. Her grasp of social mores is brilliant, the love story rings true and the research is, as ever, of the highest calibre’ Elizabeth Buchan, Daily Mail ‘Vivid and beguiling – Philippa Gregory at her best’ Woman & Home ‘A compelling novel that shines a light on the struggles of 17th century women’ Daily Mirror The novel's power lies in Gregory's evocative portrayal of the tidelands and the everyday lives of those who are bound to them’ Sunday Express ‘Philippa Gregory returns with an English Civil War novel that excels in everything she does best. Historical events are written with breathless immediacy, keeping the reader enthralled even if they know the outcome’ Alys Key, The i ‘If this novel is the first sign of what's to come then readers are in for a treat’ Emma Lee-Potter, Daily Express
£20.00 Add to basket
Desire
Desire
Strict mistresses, naughty maids, handsome gardeners and disarming strangers; literature is awash with love, sex and desire. This collection brings together 100 of the best examples, hand-picked by Mariella Frostrup and the Erotic Review. From romance and seduction to downright dirty deeds, here are prize-winners, bestsellers and rising stars, each of whom prove that when it comes to the bedroom, a little fiction goes a long way. So whether you're looking for love, lust or something in between, this gorgeous anthology is the perfect gift... or bedside companion.
£25.00 Add to basket
Cover Image for Dog Man Grime and Punishment by Dav Pilkey
Dog Man: Grime and Punishment

The next great Dog Man adventure from the worldwide bestselling author and artist Dav Pilkey. You'll howl with laughter!

The Supa Buddies bamboozled the baddies, but all's not right in the world. Dog Man has a new problem to pound, and he's going to need his entire pack to help him. Will he go barking up the wrong tree?
£10.99 Add to basket

Perfect gifts, ready to buy online...

Cover image 'The Ickablog'
The Ickabog
The Ickabog is coming… A mythical monster, a kingdom in peril, an adventure that will test two children’s bravery to the limit. Discover a brilliantly original fairy tale about the power of hope and friendship to triumph against all odds, from one of the world’s best storytellers. The kingdom of Cornucopia was once the happiest in the world. It had plenty of gold, a king with the finest moustaches you could possibly imagine, and butchers, bakers and cheesemongers whose exquisite foods made a person dance with delight when they ate them.
£20.00 Add to basket
Cover image for The Lost Words by Robert MacFarlane and Jackie Morris
The Lost Words
All over the country, there are words disappearing from children's lives. These are the words of the natural world - Dandelion, Otter, Bramble and Acorn, all gone. The rich landscape of wild imagination and wild play is rapidly fading from our children's minds. The Lost Words stands against the disappearance of wild childhood. It is a joyful celebration of nature words and the natural world they invoke. With acrostic spell-poems by award-winning writer Robert Macfarlane and hand-painted illustration by Jackie Morris, this enchanting book captures the irreplaceable magic of language and nature for all ages.
£20.00 Add to basket
Cover image for Shakespeare's Sonnets and a Lover's Complaint
The Sonnets and a Lover’s Complaint
One of Penguin's impressive hardback Clothbound Classics series, designed by award-winning Coralie Bickford-Smith, these delectable and collectible editions are bound in high-quality colourful, tactile cloth with foil stamped into the design. When this volume of Shakespeare's poems first appeared in 1609, he had already written most of the great plays that made him famous. The 154 sonnets - all but two of which are addressed to a beautiful young man or a treacherous 'dark lady' - contain some of the most exquisite and haunting poetry ever written, and deal with eternal subjects such as love and infidelity, memory and mortality, and the destruction wreaked by Time. Also included is A Lover's Complaint, originally published with the sonnets, in which a young woman is overheard lamenting her betrayal by a heartless seducer.
£14.99 Add to basket
Cover image for poetry anthology Tiger, Tiger, Burning Bright! edited by Fiona Waters and illustrated by Britta Teckentrup
Tiger, Tiger, Burning Bright: An Animal Poem for Every Day of the Year
A glorious and ambitious sequel to I Am the Seed That Grew the Tree - winner of Waterstones Children's Gift of the Year 2018 and Red Magazine's Children's Illustrated Book of the Year 2019, and described by Julia Donaldson as "An absolutely beautiful book." This lavishly illustrated gift book treasury of 366 animal poems - one for every day of the year - ranges from unforgettable classics to contemporary works from around the world, including poetry in translation. The spectacular range of poems for children includes work by Roger McGough, William Blake, Dick King-Smith, Ted Hughes, Grace Nichols, Lewis Carroll, Christina Rossetti, Emily Dickinson. Britta Teckentrup's breathtaking illustrations bring together all the richness and wonder of the animal kingdom, making this poetry anthology a perfect gift that will be treasured by generations.   With sumptuous finishes including cloth binding, full colour illustrations throughout, textured paper jacket, ribbon marker, and head and tail bands.   The perfect gift for any child or adult to treasure.
£25.00 Add to basket